Wonderful poem….”Do not go gentle into that good night”

Orange Husky Productions

I’ve been thinking a lot about death lately. One week ago, last Saturday; my maternal grandmother celebrated her 80th birthday. We talked on the phone for about twenty minutes or so. It made me happy to hear she was doing well. It’s always a bright spot talking with her.

The next day, I got a phone call from my father. My Great-grandmother, Earlene Stone, had passed away. In a few months she would have been 105 years old.  Today is her funeral.

A few days after getting the phone call from my dad, Pat sent me an email with a poem that he couldn’t get out of his head. The poem is titled “Do Not Go Gentle Into the Good Night” by Dylan Thomas. According to Pat, Thomas wrote the poem for his father, who was dying.

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and…

View original post 211 more words

