Happy Valentines Day Everyone

Older Eyes

wp-1455476127646.gif

I am a romantic.  But I am also a curmudgeon.  Being a Romantic Curmudgeon is an oxymoron?  Just who are you calling a moron?   Anyway, you’ve probably noticed that Valentine’s Day is commonly mispronounced as Valentime’s Day.   I searched a bit to see if I could discover why but there seems to be no consistent explanation, although there is a lot of interesting … and humorous … discussion here.  I found this interesting:

It has a lot to do with the formation of the phonemes in the mouth. We have a tendency toward certain phonemic combinations that are easier to pronounce when speaking quickly. When you say, “Valentimes”, the progression through your mouth (pay attention to your tongue), is fron back to front. If you say, “Valentines”, there is a break in that pattern where your tongue must slip backwards to pronounce the “-ines” portion of the word…

View original post 645 more words

